Housestaff Council

Here, we promote an open forum for housestaff trainee suggestions and comments.

The Housestaff Council (HSC) is a representative committee serving the housestaff trainees of Baylor University Medical Center, part of Baylor Scott & White Health.

The mission of the HSC is to improve graduate medical education (GME) by creating an open forum to promote excellence, communication and exchange of ideas relevant to professional issues and trends affecting the work environment and the educational training programs.

Participation and assistance of all Baylor Dallas housestaff is requested and encouraged.

What We Do

Housestaff Council gathers the third Thursday of each month from 5 to 6 p.m. in the Resident Lounge, located on 6 Roberts. The HSC is made up of resident/fellow representatives from various specialties.

With participation in the committee meetings, members of the HSC benefit from meal card money allocation, HSC council certificate and involvement in an operational hospital committee.

Expectations of representatives include:

  • Actively participate in council meetings
  • Advocate for and represent all housestaff
  • Attend GMEC meetings and escalate issues/topics for discussion
  • Disseminate information back to the programs they represent
  • Organization of housestaff social events, training and PS/QI projects

Our Current Members


Michael Lee, MD, OMFS – Chair

JK Fritz, MD, Orthopaedic Surgery – Co-Chair

Council Members

  • Beliveau, Lauren - Surgery
  • Bishop, Justin - PM&R
  • Bowler, Josh - Orthopedic Surgery
  • Chalkley, Drew - Cardiology
  • Dhaliwal, Parneet - Pathology
  • Duncan, Barrett - Radiology
  • Fiore, Connie - Dermatology
  • Fritz, JK - Orthopedic Surgery - Co- Chair
  • Gardner, Lexi - Pathology
  • Hansen, Spencer - Vascular Surgery
  • Hayes, Pam - Hem / Onc
  • Henke, Austin - PM&R
  • Hise, Alan - Radiology
  • Hoof, Pamela - Hem / Onc
  • Kambhampaty, Ankoor - Family Medicine
  • Lang, Benjamin - Pathology
  • Lee, Michael - OMFS - Chair
  • Pham, Cindy - PM&R
  • Phelps, Nick - Radiology
  • Pollifrone, Maria - PM&R
  • Solis, Jake - Orthopedic Surgery
  • Soza, Gabriella - Dermatology
  • Spurgin, Emily - OBGYN
  • Sudhakaran, Kumar - Internal Medicine
  • Sun, Jiesu - Internal Medicine
  • Thomas, Joseph - Family Medicine
  • Vier, David - Orthopedic Surgery
  • Whitty, Kaki - OBGYN
  • Wright, Katie - Surgery